Dinner parties

The other day we had some people over for dinner, and it made me think that now is a good time for a little cancer diet dinner etiquette. It’s all about cooking within the diet while showing people that what we eat isn’t that complex or different.

Now sadly I didn’t actually get any pictures of the first half of the meal, because by the time I thought about it we had eaten it. Can you blame me! I hadn’t had any lunch because we’d been cooking all day. 

For appetisers we stuffed some cherry tomatoes with some soft goats cheese, after scooping them out. We also wrapped some smoked salmon around some more goats cheese. Very tasty and they went down a treat!

For our main we had some beef (might I add, my first in a couple of weeks.) Together with some amazing butter roasted potatoes with herbs and garlic (cooking in butter not oil), garlic mushrooms and some corgetti and carrotetti. It all made for a very tasty meal and all of us licking our plates clean, metaphorically of course as this a lesson in etiquette ;)!

Now for dessert, this I did get a photo of, which I think is very good of me as they were so yummy I could have scoffed them all in one!

  
Ok I shall start with the easiest of the two. The chocolate crispy cakes, they are amazing and a great way to introduce your friends to the dairy and gluten free way. This recipe comes from a book called ‘Sugar-free snacks and treats’ so I have subbed in all of our alternative ingredients. Melt 100g of dark chocolate (about 70% dairy-free with low or natural sugar) with 60ml of coconut oil and a pinch of salt and melt. Tip in 110g of GF cornflakes (you may need to add more depending on the consistency) and mix. Put in muffin pans and refrigerate…or freeze…depending on how quick you want them.

Next is some amazingly marzipan tasting almond cupcakes (I really miss my marzipan)! Place rapeseed oil (5tbsp…can use vegetable), goats yogurt (4tbsp), 160ml of almond milk, 160g of xylitol (on a side note xylitol is a natural alternative to processed sugar that actually reduces tooth plaque and can be used like for like), 3tbsp of natural almond extract and 40g of ground almonds in a large bowl. Sift in 160g of GF plain flour, 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum and 1 1/2 tsp of GF baking powder, with a pinch of salt and beat until combined. Divide into muffin cases in a muffin tin and bake for 20-25min untill golden. We chose not to ice ours, due to the sugar, obviously. 

Sorry it’s been such a long one, but I’ve got to catch up! And who wouldn’t want such amazing recipies!

Leave a Reply

